Easter Feasting

It’s no secret that I love to entertain and hold dinner parties. Since we’ve been here in SMA we’ve had quite a few and been to others – this being such a sociable town!

For me, cooking for others is one of my favourite things and I love taking time to plan what we’re going to eat – sometimes trying on new ingredients indigenous to Mexico such as cactus paddles (LOVE!).

With it being Semana Santa we had our best friends Susan & Larry, Joseph and Eduardo over for a feast this evening. I made beef brisket for the first time – the meat didn’t turn out as well as I had hoped, but the gravy, veggies and yorkshire puds were a hit.

Cooking at altitude can be challenging at times and it’s necessary to adjust recipes. In fact, I rarely cook using a recipe but when it comes to baking at 6,500ft above sea level – I’m learning to read up! I found a great recipe for Yorkshire puddings and they turned out beautifully – phew! I’ll be making these again!

One of these days I’m going to take a few more local cooking classes and learn the old ways of Mexican cooking – so simple and yet SO good.

One thought on “Easter Feasting

  1. It’s always a joy to be included at your dinner table, mainly because of the joy you express when you share your tried and true recipes, as well as your new adventures. Last night was definitely a hit, but the friendly faces and sweet atmosphere were the most delicious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

